Because Volunteering at the MAC is cool

The other day I was talking with a friend about my volunteering at the McConnell Arts Center.

 “That’s cool,” she said. “That’s why I do it,” I replied. “So people will think I’m cool.”

 Let’s face it, we volunteer for things because we get something out of it, even if it’s just that cool fuzzy volunteer feeling. At The McConnell Arts Center you can get the fuzzy feeling, discounts on classes, free admission to MAC events, and more.

 When I am being very cool I’ll toss out a phrase like, “over at The MAC” or, “a class at The MAC.” This can prompt people to ask what “The MAC” is, which gives me an opportunity to enjoy another benefit of volunteering at the MAC: being in the know about so much of the arts scene in the Worthington area. What kinds of things are being planned for the Worthington Arts Festival this year? How about the Fourth of July? And like a good volunteer, I can point folks to The MAC Website for the latest information.

 

You can get information on how to volunteer at the MAC right here. And stop by the front desk on Thursday afternoons. I will be there, being helpful. Oh, and cool.

 

– Tam Dalrymple

Leave a Reply

